Memory is deceptive because it is colored by today’s events.
(Albert Einstein)

September 5 (6), 2013

Oops

A day late, but hope you don’t mind. The truth is that I completely forgot! It’s been a strange week. The US President was on a short visit in Stockholm  – the first visit by an American president ever and I have been thinking of Christmas…

I found an image in the archive,  created after the September 11 attacks. It is an abstract representation of feathers and birds in a magical circle with American colors and the World Trade Center highrise buildings in the middle.

What a weird event. I think it is the only painting in which I have ever used pure black. The whole world changed and in a few days it will be the 12th anniversary.

Watercolor 70 x 50 cm.

As you may notice, I am keeping the title from last week’s image of dancers.

shadow dance

Shadow dance/watercolor on paper, 70 x 50 cm

On the note of presidents and world leaders, did you know that George W Bush has begun painting? I’m planning to show some of his art on OnTheSpiritualInArt later and compare his painting style to Adolf Hitler’s, who really wanted to be a painter, but never got admitted to the Munich Art School that he wanted. (Later he ordered the burning of all abstract art.)

I think W has some talent. Adolf didn’t. And Putin hates rainbows.

I just wonder what the world would look like if more people got engaged in art.

Wishing you a great weekend.

Christina

PS. Lots of new articles for those of you interested in Art History from the romantic, symbolic, humanistic perspective at OnTheSpiritualInArt. Click link to check it out.

OnTheSpiritualInArt